A Place of Our Own
About the Series Feedback Glossary Search Go Español
Home Topics Activities Resources Episode Guide Active Learning
Peabody Awards


The Peabody Award acknowledges outstanding works exhibiting excellence, distinguished achievement and meritorious service.


What the Peabody had to say about A Place of Our Own and Los Niņos en Su Casa:


Public television's commitment to programming for children acquired a new dimension with A Place of Our Own, KCET's ambitious public-service project aimed not at pre-kindergarten kids directly but at the "parents, grandparents, child care providers, nannies" and others who take care of them. Under executive producers Stephanie Drachkovitch and Mary Mazur, directors Hal Grant and Lisa Monares, and producers Joyce Campbell, Shahnti Olcese Brook, Ellen Raphael, Allison Barksdale, Lusi Garcia, Daily Ruiz, and Audry Yi created the project's video component: 240 half-hour episodes, 120 in English, 120 in Spanish. With Debi Gutierrez hosting the former and Alina Rosario the latter, the series each day addressed a different issue, concept, or activity: expressing feelings and emotions, outdoor vs. indoor play, sharing, discipline, story time. These topics were presented by way of roundtable discussions on the show's set with parents and daycare workers. Broadcasts also included advice from child development and psychology experts and segments taped on location at child care facilities. The broadcasts' ideas were reinforced with websites, again one English, one Spanish, that together achieved more than 1.5 million page views over the year. Plus, KCET conducted more than 200 bi-lingual workshops for caregivers around the state of California. For giving families and child care workers an informative and affirming place to turn for help, a Peabody goes to A Place of Our Own.


Learn More



The National Advocacy Award presented by the National Association for Family Child Care (NAFCC), the country's leading organization of child care providers. The award is presented annually to an individual or organization that supports the role of family child care in the field of early care and education.


Learn More

Japan Prize

JAPAN PRIZE Winner 2006

A Place of Our Own/Los Niños en Su Casa websites were awarded the 2006 Japan Prize. The websites were selected for offering the best educational value and resources online in combination with a TV program. The Japan Prize International Educational Program aims to contribute to the advancement of educational programs around the world and the promotion of international understanding and cooperation.


Learn More

Parent's Choice

PARENT’s CHOICE Recommended 2006

The Parent's Choice Award is given to those that meet and exceed standards set by educators, librarians and kids themselves.


Learn More

LA City Council


The Los Angeles City Council recently issued a proclamation commending KCET for A Place of Our Own and Los Niņos en Su Casa.


Webby Awards

WEBBY AWARD Nominee 2005

The Webby Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence on the Internet. They are presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, a 550-member body of leading Web experts, business figures, luminaries, visionaries and creative celebrities.


Learn More

Eppy Awards

EPPY AWARD Nominee 2005

The EPpy Awards honor the best work in the online field by media outlets, including newspapers, radio, and broadcast/cable TV. Each year, an independent panel of industry experts selects the top examples of interactive services in a variety of categories.


Learn More

Emmy Awards

EMMY AWARD Winner 2005 (*Los Niņos only)

The Emmy Awards are administered by three sister organizations; the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, and the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.


The Emmy Awards recognize excellence within various areas of the television industry. The awards are a symbol of peer recognition from over 12,000 members of the Academy. Each member casts a ballot for the category of competition in their field of expertise.


Learn More


Behind the Scenes
About the Series
The Hosts
The Creators
Production Credits
Web Credits
© 2007 Community Television of Southern California. All rights reserved.